Deutsche Bahn

Travellers and panel of judges select the stations of the year

Awarded by the Pro-Rail Alliance, 2018's station of the year prize once again went to two different stops.

For the past 15 years, we have run an annual competition to find the most customer-friendly stations in Germany. In 2018, we once again asked rail users to tell us what stations were, in their opinion, the best in the country. The search focuses on stations that stand out thanks to exceptional infrastructure, architecture and customer service.

The award is presented by Pro-Rail Alliance (Allianz pro Schiene), an association that promotes environmentally friendly and safe rail transport in Germany. To win the prize, a station needs more than just rail customers' nominations: a panel of independent transport experts also tours the country and uses an extensive checklist to assess conditions at the nominated stations.

There were two winners in 2018: Eppstein in Hesse and Winterberg in North Rhine-Westphalia. 

Information about some of the previous winners is available in our collection "Profiles of stations".